Killarney #2 – Event 7 – Results

Cycle Teknix with shops in Table View and Kenilworth stepped up to the plate and have sponsored all the remaining events in the Killarney Series. Sprint prime prizes are Cycle Teknix cards which will allow each card holder to get 15% back in Rand value on all his or her purchases ie if you purchase for R1 000 then R150 will be loaded onto the loyalty card for future purchases. In addition to the sprint primes Cycle Teknix have acquired a Lenovo sponsorship of 4 tablets as prizes at the end of the Killarney Series.
There was an air of expectation as the younger cyclists sprinted up and down the home straight in the Scholars League in preparation for the CSA Youth Cycling Festival to be held in June/July school holidays. It is so refreshing to observe the youth cycling and enjoying themselves on their bicycles in their races which were sponsored by the Pedal Power Association.


Category 3

With the Cycling Teknix riders devoting their time to make the event a success, a lot of riders in the category 3 were eyeing a top ten finish to move up the points standings. A constant pace was maintained throughout the race and the 2 sprint primes were easily won by Justin Bruwer of Kinetic Cycling Club. Justin also powered over the line to take 1st in the overall race with City’s John Martin in second the Chris Maurer of the Outriders Cycling Club in 3rd. it is so encouraging to see most of the clubs of the Western Province region contesting this category and taking the time to foster club spirit by erecting their gazebos at the race village.



The Killarney Series is also being dedicated to fostering and promoting ladies cycling and although there were not many entries this category it was hotly contested. Bianca Holtzkampf and Leizel du Preez shared the sprint primes between them and they also finished in the prize money with Bianca (City CC) taking 1st , Leizel (Bestmed) 2nd and Simone van Aardt (Cycle Teknix) 3rd.


Category 2

  • 1st Rocco King (Kinetic CC)
  • 2nd Oswin Booysen (ind)
  • 3rd Zaheer Rahman (Infinity CC)

The sprint primes were hotly contested however only the Cycles Direct rider had the courtesy to be present to receive his prize. There were reports of a bit of verbal abuse in the bunch but before it could degenerate into the throwing of handbags it was nipped in the bud by the motorbike referee.


Category 1

Killarney Cat 1 was a bit different with a deviation from the normal route – the race was run in reverse and a new corner was incorporated. With a with an average speed of easily over 40 clicks it was inevitable that this race was going to shed a few riders early on and this was the case after the first sprint prime won by Paul Dean Rorich (Aurecon). Brandon Christians (Team Alfabodyworks)took the next 3 primes and then it was all out the final lap. With only one Lights by Linea rider present it was left to the other teams to take up the racing and they did not disappoint. Evan Carstens (Team Giant) saved himself for the final sprint to the line to take 1st from Tiaan vd Merwe (Stellenbosch Pro) and Rudie Kellerman (Team Aurecon)


We trust everyone is enjoying the series.  I would like to remind all that these events are run by a small number of people doing this in their free time.  We appreciate the good feedback, but we know we can still improve. Please do send us your feedback so that we can continue to improve.  The success of the series has placed us under a lot of stress, so some things are running a bit slow, like results; for that we apologise.

[wpfmb type=’warning’ theme=1]These are provisional results.  We are experiencing technical issues with some placements, as what appears on our computer does not show here.  Please be patient while the service provider fix it.[/wpfmb]

[wpfmb type=’info’ theme=1]If you think it is incorrect or you are missing, please send your name, race number and Mobii chip number to [email protected] so that we can look into the matter. Do not phone, Skype, WhatsApp or FB Messanger me; email.[/wpfmb]

The points have been updated, but excludes these results.  Once final we will publish the updated points.