SA Omnium Track Championships – Results – Day 1

“Fast paced and exciting” would aptly describe the first day of the racing at the SA Omnium championship held at the Olympic standard Bellville Velodrome in Cape Town. The event hosted this year on short notice by Western Cape Cycling and organised by Western Province Cycling Association brought the best in South Africa to the Mother City.

[lightbox link=”” thumb=”×422.png” width=”1024″ align=”center” title=”Our sponsors – SA Omnium Championship 2015″ frame=”true” icon=”image” caption=”Our sponsors – SA Omnium Championship 2015″]

Local born “the Hoff”, Nolan Hoffman, from team Abantu turned up the heat from the first gun, winning 2 out of the 3 events in the elites category, only to be outdone by his team mate Morné van Niekerk winning the individual pursuit. Evan Carstens (Team Giant Yorkshire) from Durbanville, Shameeg Salie (Cape Town Giants) and Stefan Ihlenfeldt (Lights By Linea) gave it their best in the bunch races, while the Gauteng riders Ryan Gibbons (VWE/Europcar) and Steven van Heerden (VWE/ Europcar) faired better in the pursuit.

Our own Elfriede Wolfaardt (TrackCyclingSA), however, wanted it all and secured points in all three elite ladies events. Elisa Gianchino (Complete Cyclist) and Ilze Bole (Team Computer Smith) from Gauteng where short on her heels.

The veterans and masters categories saw Martin van Wyk (VWE / Europcar) leading the pack, carrying forward his great form from the recent World Masters Track Championship in Manchester, England where he represented South Africa.

Bradley Gouveris, Damean Oosthuizen, Daniyal Matthews and Kyle De Wet are neck-and-neck in the juniors category, while Abdul Muttalib Sauls, Jarrad Clark and Divan Barnard lead the u/16 category.

The Omnium will continue tomorrow, Thursday 5 November, to complete the mandatory 6 events participants have to compete in. Who will be the ultimate champion?

Provisional results after day one;

Nolan Hoffman 118
Evan Carstens 98
Morné van Niekerk 92
Steven Van Heerden 88
Stefan Ihlenfeldt 88
Shameeg Salie 86
Jean Spies 84
Calvin Beneke 84
Ryan Gibbons 82
Kellan Gouveris 72
Rudie kellerman 64
Rohan Du Plooy 54
Carl Bonthuys 40
Daniël Stroebel 38
Douglas Abbot 36
Marco Abrahams 34
Dirkie Nel 23
Jared Poulton 21
Brandon Robin Christians 20
Corne Bence 20
Heinrich Stroebel 17
Kyle Bradford 3
Masters 45+
Martin van Wyk 118
Bruce Viljoen 98
John Moss 64
Masters 35+
Mark-Lister Petersen 104
Chrispin Fourie 102
Faizel Thomas 98
Peter-John Wheeler 88
Justin Seale 86
Abdul Quayum Davids 82
Moses Venceslau 78
Faizel Hendricks -7
Open Ladies
Elfriede Wolfaardt 120
Elisa Gianchino 114
Ilze Bole 106
Bronwyn Abrahams 102
Liezel Du Preez 96
Junior Ladies
Jessica Gerber 63
Abdul Muttalib Sauls 118
Jarrad Clark 116
Divan Barnard 100
Titus Juries 73
Ashleigh Parsons 65
Jessica Brown 65
Bradley Gouveris 116
Damean Oosthuizen 110
Daniyal Matthews 108
Kyle De Wet 108
George Perrins 94
Louis Visser 63
Rocco King 55
Azhar Abrahams 53
Wynand Dippenaar 45
Rainhardt Marais 43
Renaldo Booysen 43
Johann Bredenkamp 39
Johnathen Brown 39


Photos will be added once made available. Thanks to Salie Toefy (Cycling with Double ST) and Owen Lloyed (sponsor, from Intellibus and Arrow Lite) for your commitment to capture the excitiment.