Lights by Linea President’s Cup 2014

Lights by Linea will be sponsoring the Western Province Interprovincial meeting on Sunday 24

August 2014 from 09:00 to 12:00 where teams from Western Province, Cape Winelands Cycling,

Eastern Province, KwazuluNatal, Gauteng and Free State compete for the President’s Cup. Local

professional teams will also be taking part, including Abantu (KZN), Bonitas (Gauteng) and Giant (Boland).

[lightbox link=”” thumb=”×150.jpg” width=”150″ align=”none” title=”Photo – Capcha Photography – 1″ frame=”true” icon=”image”]

The Western Province will be represented by;

WP Elite Team

Brandon Christians
Marco Abrahams
Neil Rossow
Stefan Ihlenfelt
Bradwin Daniels (Reserve)

Jean Smith
Kyle Borchjes
Mathew De Freytas


Glen Bonthuys
Michael Borchjes

WP Ladies Team
Bronwin Abrahams
Debbie loffelDawson
Maroesjka Matthee
Myrtel Hagendoorn

A Western Cape Masters team will also be taking part in the first inter provincial event for this category.

WC Masters Team
Christhonie Geldenhuys
Coen Pretorius
Faizel Thomas
Hendrik Groblaar
John Moss
MarkLister Andrew Petersen
Peter Wheeler
Pierre Slabbert
Wayne Roberts
Andrew Arends (Reserve)


Jaco Scholtz

Interprovincial meetings make for extremely exciting riding as riders always go all out to prove where the strength of track cycling in South Africa resides. Spectators will also be entertained by the cream of the crop in track sprinting, and with WP known as SA’s sprinting hub, locals should not be disappointed. WP will be fielding the SA elite team sprint team of Jean Smith, Kyle Borches and Matthew de Freitas while the SA junior champion Eugene Soule (who competed in the World Youth Track Cycling Championships) will be among the talented youngsters who will be strutting their stuff.

Multiple women’s track champion Maroesjka Matthee will be sure to make a statement that she should also have been selected to compete in Glasgow. At the interprovincial meeting, teams consisting of men and women will be competing in the team sprint, team pursuit as well as the extremely exciting 1 500 m and devil takes the hindmost (in which the last rider over the line falls out with the last two riders sprinting for the title).

This will be the first of three interprovincial meetings to decide the home of the muchsought after President’s Cup.

Since WP boasts many current and former national champions, local spectators can be sure of great excitement and entertainment when the rest of the country flocks down to the Cape to take them on in the only Velodrome on the continent of Africa!

Photo: Capcha Photography