Afrimat Tour de Worcester

2022-09-11 @ 7:30 am – 1:00 pm
Opstal Cellars
Slanghoek Rd
Valley Africa, Rawsonville, 6850
South Africa
Sue Kirk

The Lions Club of Worcester, in association with Western Province Cycling Association, are please to announce the return of the Afrimat Tour de Worcester.  The event will take place on 11 September 2022.

The 130km and 102km races are seeding events for the 947 Ride Joburg event.



Tour   De Worcester – 135km Group 1
FirstName LastName Group
Zubair Adams 1
Yushrick Bassadien 1
Carl Bonthuys 1
Craig Boyes 1
Jason Bruintjies 1
Nicol Carstens 1
Justin Chesterton 1
Kyle Correia 1
Kelson Da Cruz 1
Grant Daly 1
Jaco Davel 1
Yaaseen Davis 1
Asive Dlela 1
Michael   Christiaan Dreyer 1
Zander Du Preez 1
Chrispin Fourie 1
Alex Goetham 1
Josh Gray 1
Benino Hans 1
Alan Hatherly 1
Alex Heward 1
Wynand Hofmeyr 1
John Horn 1
Tyron Ingle 1
Malcolm Isaacs 1
Thaafier Jaffer 1
Malcolm Lange 1
Tyler Lange 1
Guy Le Ray-Cook 1
Jean-Pierre Lloyd 1
Jean-Pierre Lloyd 1
Etnard Louw 1
Joshua Louw 1
Coenraad Maas 1
Stefano Marcia 1
Alexander Milner 1
Jamie Moses 1
Ian Naude 1
Thys Oosthuizen 1
Giovanni Pantalone 1
Jean-Baptiste Racoupeau 1
Zaheer Rahman 1
Niel Rossouw 1
Shameeg Salie 1
Adnaan Solomon 1
Niyaaz Solomon 1
Mogamat Yusuf Sonday 1
Louis Strijdom 1
Wilco Strydom 1
Eduan Strydom 1
Robin Trevor-Goode 1
Chris Tyler 1
Theuns van der Bank 1
Willie van Heerden 1
Leonardo Van Onselen 1
Heinrich Van Rooyen 1
Franko Van Zyl 1
Jaco Venter 1
Lloyd Weitz 1
Jarret West 1


Tour   De Worcester – 135km Group 2
FirstName LastName Group
Rameez Abrahams 2
Seraj Abrahams 2
Shafik Abrahams 2
Shaheed Adams 2
Wasfie Adams 2
Bruce Anderson 2
Ashraf Arnold 2
Brandon Barnes 2
Curtis Basson 2
Neil Benjamin 2
Heinie Beukes 2
Abdullah Bhawoodien 2
Abdalrahman Cader 2
Mike Clarke 2
Andrew Coetzee 2
Paul Sean Daniels 2
Riaaz Davids 2
Jacques de Bruyn 2
Pieter de Vos 2
David Eastman 2
Kashief Edwards 2
Zac Ellis 2
Carlo Engelbrecht 2
Louis Fraser Erasmus 2
Zubair Esack 2
Umair Farooq 2
Mogammad Gierdien 2
Kieran Gordge 2
Junaid Hattas 2
Fay-yaadh Hendricks 2
Gamiem Isaacs I 2
Goolam Ismail 2
Hanief Ismail 2
Jason James 2
Julian Jodamus 2
Keith Jones 2
Arshad Kelly 2
Farhaad Khan 2
Bernard Laker 2
Stiaan Loubser 2
Paul Marais 2
Alroy Margo 2
Zakariyyaa Martin 2
Scott Mullin 2
Dewald Nienaber 2
Tyron Oliphant 2
Shaheen Philander 2
Moegamat Sambo 2
Warren Scheepers 2
Herman Schouwink 2
Francois Siebrits 2
Gershwin Simons 2
Marvin Smith 2
Sasha Solomons 2
Eldrid Struis 2
Michaela Surtees 2
Bradley Talmarkes 2
Simphiwe Tanga 2
Zakariya   Zakhele Toefy 2
Reyaan Traut 2
Bradley Trout 2
Johan van Zyl 2
Eben Vivier 2
Kai von During 2
Courteney Webb 2
Daniel Williams-King 2
Billy Zwiegers 2



To enhance our riders safety, we have redirected the route through Rawsonville to cut out the Main Road.  We will instead go around the perimeter of the town.  Route maps below have been updated accordingly.

This means an increase of approximately 5km per distance, other than the 38km race.

Registration and costs

Entry Type Price
Online entries for the 135km race R375
Online entries for the 107km race R325
Online entries for the 66km family ride R250
Online entries for the 38km family ride R200

All participants are required to have a CSA Membership or purchase a day license at R50 per person. This is in addition to the price indicated above.

Course and distances

Long – 135km

Medium Long – 107km

Medium – 66km

Short – 38km

Start Times

The 107km race will start at 7h30 in batches as required.  This will include a separate start for the women doing this race

The 135km race will start at approximately 8h00 in batches as required

The 66km race will start at approximately 8h30 in batches as required

The 32km race will start at approximately 9h00 in batches as required

Start Groups

Please refer to the table below for the distances and approximate average speed for each category.

Batch Distance Average Speed
A 135km 32 – 40 km/h
B 107km 28 – 36 km/h
C 66km 22 – 28 km/h
D 38km 18 – 24 km/h

Select a category based on your expected average speed over the given distance. Cut-off times will apply on the route based on the lowest speed indicated above.

Under 19 Men are eligible for all race distances.

The ladies will have a separate race in the 107km event and we encourage all ladies wanting to do a longer race to enter this event.

Under 17 Boys and Under 19 Girls cannot participate in the 135km race.

Under 15 Boys and Under 17 Girls can race in the 38km and 66km races.

No other youth age groups are eligible for participation

Registration and Parking

Registration and Parking will be at Opstal Cellars, Slanghoek Road – Please look out for the parking signs.

Race Numbers and Tags

All participants will be issued with race specific numbers and frame boards which include an embedded timing tags. All frame boards / tags are to be returned at the end of the race.

Event Guide

The event guide for Tour de Worcester will be made available closer to the time.


Entries will open on Friday 22 July and close at 19h00 on Monday 5 September 2022. No entries will be possible after this time.


Event management, online entries and payments made possible by

Cancellation Policy

Due to the uncertainty surrounding the Covid-19 epidemic, the organisers of the event reserve the right to cancel the race should circumstances dictate.  If we cancel the race 7 or more days before the time (on or before 4 September 2022) we will refund those who have entered 60% of their race fee.  Anytime after that, we will refund 30% of your entry fee.  Alternatively, arrangements can be made with the registration team to carry the race fee over to the rescheduled event, should we have one.  Should you request a refund, when the rescheduled event is announced, you will be required to pay the full amount again.

Entrants who cancel their entries 7 or more days before the time (on or before 4 September 2022) will be refunded 30% of their entry fee.  Cancellations in the 7 days prior to the event, or on the day itself, will not be refunded.


Both the 130km and the 102km races have been vetted and approved as a 94.7 seeding event.