WP Cycling Youth Squad for CSA Youth Festival

Oudshoorn Inter District Youth Festival 25th June -28TH June 2018

Every year Western Province Schools Cycling competes in the Oudshoorn Youth Festival against other districts in the Western Cape (Western Province, Eden, West Coast and Winelands).This year will be no different as we will be selecting a team of no less than 50 riders and 10 support staff. We will depart from Cape Town on Saturday 23 June 2018and will return on the 29th June 2018

Eden Cycling will host the annual Oudtshoorn Youth Cycling Festival for the 8th consecutive year during the first week of the June school holiday from Monday, 25 June to Thursday, 28 June 2018.

The Oudtshoorn Youth Cycling Festival is the stepping stone for young cyclists to develop bike skills and this event aims to create an opportunity for all riders under the age of 19 to participate against other riders with similar abilities. The emphasis is on team and mass participation and all participants will earn points for their respective district team and be awarded points for their individual performance.

This is also an opportunity for the Province to identify talent, and assist with development and transformation goals. It is difficult to identify a young rider’s potential if they participate in mass events with adults or other age categories as their competitors.

The focus is more on bike skills and therefore bunch track events on Mountain bikes were incorporated to allow the youth to develop their skills in a safe and secure environment, and at the same time, to give them the opportunity to watch and learn from the more experienced participants.

It also provides cross-pollination of events and exposure to different cycling environments. This year the Cross Country (XCO) has been added to strengthen the skills development component of the competition.

The program will start on Monday with a Road Race at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm and a Team time trial in the afternoon. On Tuesday the Criterium will take place on the Aurial College Circuit in Bridgeton. On Wednesday all the racing will move to the Oudtshoorn Quad Club where the XCO will take place in the morning and the start of the MTB Oval Track racing. On Thursday morning the racing will conclude with the MTB Oval Track racing and final Prize Giving.

The Oudtshoorn Youth Cycling Festival provides a strong healthy platform to develop riders into future cycling professionals such as Burry Stander, Louis Meintjes, Nicolas Dlamini and Stefan de Bod.

Corné Bence, President of Eden Cycling, and organizer of the event said that the Oudtshoorn Youth Cycling Festival has shown a good progressive growth and a high level of competition. The entry fee for 2018 has not been increased and the riders can compete in 7 different cycling disciplines.

Online Entries for the event will close on Sunday, 17 June 2018. No late entries will be accepted after the closing date.


Herewith an average budget for the Western Province Schools Cycling Team

Required Expense                      Amount

Registration                                R15000.00 (Closing Date 17 June 2018)

Transportation                            R24500.00.00 (R10000.00 deposit by 31st May 2018)

Accommodation                         R121800.00 (50% deposit by 31 May 2018)

Wp Clothing                               R25000.00

Total                                           R186300.00

The tour is self-funded, however we do try our best to get sponsorship from Department of Sports and Culture like previous years, unfortunately funding is not guaranteed.Should we get funding at any stage, Riders/Parents will be refunded.

The individual cost for per rider are as follows:

Registration R300.00

Transportation R490.00

Accommodation R 2436.00(6 Nights 3 meals included)

Wp Track suit top R500.00

Total R3726.00

All riders must inform the Western Province Cycling Commissioner via email, if they accept the invitation by no later than 1st June 2018

O’Ryan Bruintjies ([email protected])

Also inform him if you will be using your own Accommodation and Transport

All riders must register before 17 June 2018 via the Eden Cycling Website, no late entries will be accepted

Al funds must be paid in the following account by no later than the 10 June 2018

 Bank Account details:

Western Province Schools

Standard Bank

Acc nr: 045903514

Branch Code: 051001

Savings Account

Reference: Riders name and OYF

Any queries on the above can be addressed to:

O’Ryan Bruintjies

[email protected]


Western Province Schools Team 2018 Oudshoorn Youth Festival

U/11 Girls

Berdine Erasmus

Eemaan Salie

Jana Van Der Walt

U/11 Boys

Kevin Naude

Moghammad Arnold

Cameron Wilcox

Azam Burch

U/13 Girls

Jessie Munton

Mine Van Der Walt

U/13 Boys

Justin Naude

Luke Oldale

Sizwe Mdluli

Amien De Klerk

Lakenzo Britton

U/15 Girls

Mia Fortuin

Christine Solomons

Toni-Lee Lemine

Churstey Simon

Kirsten Williams

U/15 Boys

Faayaad Hendricks

Daniel Grobbelaar

Dwayne Daames

Ashoka Devontey

Enoch Mtshiselwa


U/17 Girls

Sophia Frederich

Donna- Lee Martin

Tamsyn Fortuin

Mikayla Pieterse

U/17 Boys

Bobby Troskie

Jason Bruintjies

Stefan Marais

Jonathan Bouwer

Devontey Schuller

Nathan Steward

Ziyaad Solomon

Justin Chesterton

Nicholas Freiderick

Tasreeq Abrahams

Asisipho Willy

Hlumelo Ngqobongana

Sixolile Mavela

Avuyile Thole

U/19 Girls

Kayla Lubbe

Jamie-Leigh Abrahams

Musheera Philander

Imaan Abrahams

Samay Hindle

U/19 Boys

Jacques Bredenkamp

Njabulo Mdhuli

Siphiwe Mbatha

Vuyolwethu Nkomo

Matthew Fortuin

Brannon Miller

Ethan Warrin

Wesley Fredericks

Mishab Jordan

Chadwin Andrews

Aviwe Matina

Asemahle Norholela