As per the Western Province Mountain Bike Constitution, a minimum 14 day notice period is required for the Annual General Meeting (AGM). Please therefore accept this as official notification for the AGM which is currently set for the 14th of October 2015. The venue is provisionally booked at the Western Province Cricket Club. Commencement will begin at 17h30.

More details will follow in due course.

The Annual General Meeting will be the forum in which the office bearers for the Western Province Mountain Bike Commission will be appointed for the following year. Nominations for the positions of office bearers should be submitted in writing to Shani Morton ([email protected]) no later than seven days before the AGM. Nominations must make provision for a proposer and countersigned by a nominee.

It is important to note that all office bearers need to be elected at the Annual General Meeting. Current office bearers who wish to stay on and serve the commission will have to make themselves available for re-election. Voting for office bearers will take place at the AGM.

After serving as Chairperson for two years of the WPMTBC and having been involved in Provincial racing for four years, I will not be standing for re-election as Chairman of the WPMTBC. At this moment it is not certain as to, whether or not, I will make myself available for a position of office bearer.

It is imperative that individuals make themselves available to serve on the commission. Without the Commission there will be no Western Province XCO or DHI Series, Western Cape Championships, Western Province Marathon Series or Western Cape Marathon Championships.


The proposed list for XCO for both Western Province and Western Cape are included below. Please review these lists and if there are any queries, this should be raised to Stephen van der Walt ([email protected]holdings) by no later than close of business on Wednesday, 23 September 2015.  Unfortunately the DHI lists are not yet finalised and this will be circulated in due course. Any queries raised will be presented to the Commission for deliberation.

Western Cape Colours
Western Province Colours

Both the Western Province and Western Cape Colours Ceremony will be held immediately after the AGM on 14 October 2015 at the Western Province Cricket Club.

At the ceremony the certificate for both the Western Province and Western Cape Colours will be handed out. At present there are no sponsors for clothing. Should any person be prepared to offer a sponsorship for both Western Province and Western Cape Colours, please contact Shani Morton ([email protected]).
If clothing incorporates a hat, sponsors are allowed to carry their name on the left and right side of the hat. If sponsored clothing includes a jacket/top, sponsorship logo is allowed on the nape of the neck and on one side of the chest.

In brief, Western Province Colours are awarded on the following basis:

  • First and Second position in the Western Province XCO Cup Series and there must be at least five individual participants;
  • If an individual participates but does not qualify for the Western Province XCO Cup Series they can still qualify through coming first or second in the Western Cape Championships (minimum of three participants, a top three place in either the SA XCO Cup Series or SA National Championships).

In brief, Western Cape Colours are awarded on the following basis:First place in Western Cape Championships (less than five entrants) or top three (five or more participants);

  • Top three in the SA National Championships (less than fifteen entries) or top five (where there are fifteen or more participants);
  • Top three in the SA National Cup Series.

An individual must have Western Province Colours to qualify for Western Cape Colours.  A participant is an individual who completes a race.


The third round of the Nissan Trailseeker Western Cape Series (Western Province Marathon Series) will be held at Suma Ridge Estate Wines in Hemel and Aarde Valley(Hermanus) on 10 October 2015. This race will take place during the Whale Festival. There will be television coverage, prize money and Provincial points up for grabs.

For more details please visit

Please remember that, due to the mix-up at the Nissan Trailseeker Series race in Helderberg, the following applies:

  • For U10/U12/U14: The best three of the four races will determine Western Province Colours;
  • For Girls U16 and U118: The best three of the four races will determine Regional Colours;
  • For Boys U16 and U18 and all other categories: The best two of the four races will count towards Regional Colours.


The Ladismith Cheese 7Weekspoort Mountain Bike Challenge once again doubles-up as the Western Cape Marathon Championships. This takes place in Ladismith on 3 of October 2015.

For comprehensive details please go to or contact Corne Bence  ([email protected]).

Please be aware that you can only qualify for Western Cape Colours (Provincial) for a Marathon if you have already earned either Western Province (Regional) Colours or Eden (Regional) Colours.

Due to the fact that the Western Province marathon series will only be completed on14 November 2015, colours will not be awarded after the event, but a separate ceremony will be held later in November. Separate Western Cape medals will however be presented to the various categories at the event.